19 Jul

Hello my name is Daisy. I am 14 and going into grade 10 at Thomas A Stewart. I joined the TRACKS program because I wanted to meet new people and make new friends. Also because I wanted to learn more about the land and my culture. 

Some of my hobbies are swimming, biking, drawing and writing. When I was little I would always write stories and they were always terrible. I have one book that I wrote that was really good but when I moved houses I lost it. I really like hanging out with my friends in town and at my house. 

My favorite thing to do with my friends is play mario kart. When we play mario kart I always win and I don't know why because I never play. I am a very quiet person and I don't like speaking in front of big crowds. I am only outgoing when I feel comfortable with the people I am around. When I am working in a group with someone I know I feel more confident and open. 

I am excited about making my own program because I can put my ideas into making something for people to enjoy and get more educated in things. 

Something I really enjoyed in the past was my drum group that I did a few summers ago. We made lots of things like medicine pouches, shakers,skirts, and drums. When we made our drums we had to have a ceremony to birth the drum. We learned lots of songs but my favorite song we learned was strong woman. I know that's basic but it was my favorite song we sang.

 I really enjoy going to pow wows in Curve Lake in the summer. I enjoy pow wows because I really like all the music and dancers. I have danced in a pow wow once when I was really little. I didn't have a regalia or shawl but I danced with my friends.